Palace de la Concorde

The Place was designed by Ange-Jacques Gabriel in 1755 as a moat-skirted octagon between the Champs-Elysses to the west and the Tuileries Gardens to the east. Filled with statues and fountains, the area was named Place Louis XV to honor the king at that time. The square showcased an equestrian statue of the king, which had been commissioned in 1748 by the city of Paris, sculpted mostly by Edme Bouchardon, and completed by Jean-Baptiste Pigalle after the death of Bouchardon.

» France » Ile de France » Paris

Travel to


Online booking


©2010 All Rights Reserved. travel inspire